info@heartwormsociety.orgCartSign In
Worms IMG_7765.slice1.jpg

Executive Board Officers & Members

The American Heartworm Society was founded in early 1974 by a group of veterinary practitioners and scientists concerned about heartworm disease. Since then, the Society has continued to thrive and grow.  Active membership is open to all veterinarians and scientists with interests in any aspect of heartworm disease.  Membership as a Subscriber or Student Member is also available to other individuals interested in keeping abreast of the latest developments in this area.

The American Heartworm Society is governed by an Executive Board made up of veterinary practitioners, academicians and researchers. Executive board members are actively involved in the day-to-day operations of the Society and volunteer hundreds of hours of time in the Society’s service. Only members in private clinical practice may serve as President.

The American Heartworm Society is an international organization, with members from five continents and 13 countries.

 

Officers

Christopher Rehm

President

Christopher J. Rehm, Sr., DVM, is the owner of Rehm Animal Clinics of Mobile and Baldwin counties, four small animal clinics in south Alabama.
chris.rehm@heartwormsociety.org 


Stephen Jones

Immediate Past President

Stephen Jones, DVM, is a general practitioner and practice partner at Lakeside Animal Hospital in Moncks Corner, South Carolina.
stephen.jones@heartwormsociety.org


Anthony Rumschlag

Vice President

Tony Rumschlag, DVM, is Director of Consulting Veterinarians, Companion Animal, at Elanco/Lilly Companion Animal Health in Greenfield, Indiana.
tony.rumschlag@heartwormsociety.org


Bianca Zaffarano

Secretary/Treasurer

Bianca Zaffarano, DVM, is currently the section leader for the primary care area at the Veterinary Medical Center at Iowa State University College of Veterinary Medicine in Ames, Iowa, and the director of the Wildlife Care Clinic located in the hospital. She spent two decades in small animal and exotic private practice and moved to academia in 2009.
bianca.zaffarano@heartwormsociety.org


Patricia Payne

Editor

Dr. Patricia Payne, DVM, PhD, DACVIM, is an Associate Professor Emeritus (retired) in the Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology at the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine in Manhattan, Kansas.
patricia.payne@heartwormsociety.org


 

Executive Board Members

Elizabeth ClydeDruinElizabeth Clyde, DVM, is the owner of Clyde’s Animal Clinic in Mattoon, Illinois and the Animal Family Vet Care Center of Paris in Paris, Illinois.
elizabeth.clyde@heartwormsociety.org


Brian DiGangiBrian DiGangi, DVM, MS, DABVP is a Senior Director of Shelter Medicine at the ASPCA and is based out of Gainesville, Florida.
brian.diGangi@heartwormsociety.org


Chris DukeChris Duke, DVM, is a practitioner and co-owner of Bienville Animal Medical Center in Ocean Springs, Mississippi.
chris.duke@heartwormsociety.org


Andrew MoorheadAndrew Moorhead, DVM, MS, PhD, is an Assistant Research Scientist at the University of Georgia and is Director and Primary Investigator of the Filariasis Research Reagent Resource Center in Athens, Georgia.
andrew.moorhead@heartwormsociety.org


Jennifer RizzoJennifer Rizzo, DVM, is an Emergency Veterinarian at the Mission Pet Emergency in San Antonio, Texas.
jennifer.rizzo@heartwormsociety.org


Tom NelsonCharles Thomas (Tom) Nelson, DVM, is Medical Director at the Animal Medical Centers of N.E. Alabama, based in Anniston, Alabama.
tom.nelson@heartwormsociety.org


Ex-Officio - Non-Voting

Christopher AdophChris Adolph, DVM is Veterinary Specialist (Parasitology) at Zoetis in Tulsa, Oklahoma.
chris.adolph@heartwormsociety.org


Doug CarithersDoug Carithers, DVM, is Director of Applied Research and Publications at Merial Ltd in Duluth, Georgia. 
doug.carithers@heartwormsociety.org


Elizabeth HodgkinsElizabeth Hodgkins, DVM, Esq. is the Director of Veterinary Relations at Ceva Animal Health, LLC in Yorba Linda, California.
elizabeth.hodgkins@heartwormsociety.org


John McCallJohn W. McCall, MS, PhD, is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Infectious Diseases at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine in Athens, Georgia.
john.mccall@heartwormsociety.org


Craig ParksCraig Parks, DVM, is Vice President, Research and Development at Virbac in Ft. Worth, Texas.
craig.parks@heartwormsociety.org


Robert ZolynasRobert Zolynas, DVM, MBA is Vice President of Research and Development North America for Bayer Animal Health in Shawnee Mission, Kansas.
robert.zolynas@heartwormsociety.org


AHS Association Management Team

ELEVATE DVM, Inc. serves as the Association Management Team of the American Heartworm Society. Please contact the following persons for specific needs:

Kathy Gloyd, DVM
President, ELEVATE DVM, Inc.
Director of the Association Management Team
kathy.gloyd@heartwormsociety.org


Lisa Scott
Sponsor Contact, Triennial Symposium, General Information
lisa.scott@heartwormsociety.org


Bonnie Gamble
Financial Inquiries, Publications
bonnie.gamble@heartwormsociety.org


Sonya Hennessy
Membership, Heartworm University
sonya.hennessy@heartwormsociety.org


Sue O’Brien
Communications and Media Inquiries
obriensuek@gmail.com

 

Twitter: @AHS_Think12